1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Open Source Slideshow Software by WOWSlider.com v3.4



Broomhill National Sculpture Prize 2017

Broomhill National Sculpture Prize Winners Announced

An air of excitement and anticipation was cast over Broomhill Art Hotel and Sculpture Gardens this week (03 Nov 17) as the prestigious judges of the Broomhill National Sculpture Prize (artists Lucy Glendinnings, Anthony Garratt and Dominic Welch along with Broomhill owners Rinus and Aniet van de Sande) gathered to decide on the winners of the annual prize.

Judges' Prize • Lauren Goldie

Judges' Prize • Lauren Goldie

After much argument and deliberation, the winner of the £3,500 Judges' Prize was awarded to:

Special Commendation

The judges also awarded special commendations to:

Public Speaks Prize • Benedict Hughes

Visitors to Broomhill are invited to vote for their favourites sculpture and thousands of votes were cast this year. From this vote, the Public Speaks prize of £1,500 was awarded to:

Visitors to Broomhill over the summer have been very impressed and enthusiastic about the quality of the pieces on display as were all of the judges and all work will stay on display at Broomhill until the end of April 2018.

The call is now out for the Broomhill National Sculpture Prize 2018 to take part in this exciting and challenging competition for new and emerging UK based sculptors. UK based artists, currently studying (or within 10 years of graduation) an art-related course at a recognised School of Art are invited to register for the competition before 30th January 2018. Ten shortlisted artists will then be selected and awarded 1,000 to create their proposed sculpture for display at Broomhill throughout the summer of 2018.

The ten finalists

Welcome to the home of the National Sculpture Prize 2017. Over the winter we received a wide selection of submissions from artists allover the UK, with a high level of work and quality put into the presentations. This year we invited the artists, Lucy Glendinnings, Anthony Garratt and Dominic Welch to judge the entries along with owners of Broomhill Rinus and Aniet van se Sande. As the sucessful finalists begin to create their artworks we look forward to seeing the progress of each sculpture through the NSP Blog.

Jenny Ridgway
Sandra James
Lauren Goldie
James Trundle
Zoe Maslen
Katie Hayward
Ana Catarina Pereira
Jack West
Joel Reilly
Benedict Hughes


National Sculpture Prize sponsors